What I’ve learnt from clouds

I'm on holiday by the sea in Devon. In fact, I can see and hear the sea from every window in the house we're staying in. It's been lovely! The other evening, I had a bath in this amazing bath:

I listened to the sea and watched the clouds. It was sooooo relaxing. I'm going to apologise to my friend Thor, who studies clouds, because I'm pretty sure my analogy isn't remotely meteorologically correct (I'm not even sure if that's the right spelling!).

There were grey, rain clouds and fluffy, white clouds. The fluffy white ones were still and big and there consistently and the grey, rain ones were drifting speedily by in the strong wind. Every now and then the grey ones covered the white ones and you only got glimpses of the white ones. And then sometimes the grey ones were really thick and completely obscured the white ones. But the grey ones passed over and the white ones came back again, still big and white and with the sun reflecting on them in the same place.

On my Calm app, Tamara (the woman who narrates it -we're on a first name basis 😉) says every day 'emotions pass, this too shall pass'. And it's like the clouds. The bad, nasty things are just dark clouds temporarily covering up the white, fluffy, exciting things, or the good things in life. Good things are still there in the background even when the dark clouds pass over. You have to work harder to see them, but they're still there.

Not exactly a difficult conclusion to come to, but it made me feel good at the time I was watching clouds (which I love to do anyway!). Plus, for once, I get to brag about somewhere beautiful I've been 😉

Leave a Reply

