Insulin Resistance & Reactive Hypoglycaemia

I saw a different endo last week, which was mostly preparation for the synacthen test I had this week. However, we did talk about the hypos (low blood sugar episodes) I've been having, and I got diagnosed with something else; reactive hypoglycaemia.

A hypo isn't pleasant. When I have them, I feel shaky, sweaty, confused, have poor concentration, dizzy, and have a headache. Too low a blood sugar is dangerous, so needs to be treated so you don't become acutely ill.

The consultant actually diagnosed me with an 'abnormal phase 1 lag release' (whatever that is!). But that's a bit of a mouthful! I already have insulin resistance, which means my body needs a bit of persuading to make insulin, and then when it does it floods my system with it. But having reactive hypoglycaemia means that my blood sugar level gets pushed down by the excess insulin and I have a hypo, or something that feels like a hypo because my body doesn't know if it's coming or going.

Still following? If so, well done! It was at this stage of the explanation that I really wished I'd paid more attention in biology at school. Reactive hypoglycaemia also means that when I eat, my blood sugar goes up a tiny bit and then down a lot, rather than up a lot (ish) and down a bit like most people's do. I've been telling doctors this for about 18 months and they've all been telling me 'that's not right' or 'you're reading it wrong' but the professor in endocrinology I saw last week didn't flinch when I said it and knew exactly what was going on, so it can't be that weird!

This actually explains my 'I need to eat' feeling I get and why I need to eat seemingly constantly, even overnight. I eat something, insulin isn't used the way it's meant to, my blood sugar goes down and I feel hypo-ish so I need to eat to get my blood sugar to go up a bit and the cycle starts again. So really, when I feel hypo, it's because of what I've eaten a few hours ago because my body has a lag or delay. Which is a tad hard to predict!

Just to complicate things further, hypos are also really bad for Adrenal insufficiency, and hypo is one of the onset of crisis symptoms. It's been pretty entertaining trying to guess whether I need sugar, carbs or more hydrocortisone during these episodes!

My consultant's exact words were 'think and eat like a sheep- graze little and often'. Which made me laugh- a consultant with a sense of humour! Rather than 3 meals a day, I should be eating more like 6 or 7 smaller meals, made up of low or complex carbs (low GI). I've essentially been eating the right foods but the dieticians and my other endo told me to aim for 3 meals a day. So I did and it was hard. I'm hoping this might work better and I won't feel so much like I'm on a rollercoaster blood sugar wise.

I never have high blood sugar, my over producing insulin (albeit with a lag) takes care of that. I need to do some more reading about it and, from what my consultant said, it's not easy to work out and will be a lot of trial and error. But it feels like some progress after I've been hitting brick walls for almost 3 years with this.

Leave a Reply

