Communicating With Other People

I know this is true of other people with mental health conditions but something I’m having arguments in my head a lot at the moment is how I communicate with other people. There’s two main ways I interact with people: face to face and via technology.

Face to face 

I like meeting up with people but social situations make me anxious. Physically, it’s a lot more tricky for me to meet up with people because of the limitations imposed by my illness. But I sometimes find it quite stressful because I don’t remember half of what I or other people say. Which shouldn’t be a problem, except for the fact that I usually spend a lot of time afterwards over-analysing things that have been said or the way I perceive someone’s body language and somehow manage to make the situation appear in such a way in my mind that I’ve done or said something ‘wrong’ or to upset people. Even when I haven’t. Rationally, I know this. But because I can’t remember much of the interaction I don’t feel like it.

*sciency bit* This is something which lots of people with anxiety experience: over generalisation, negative filtering, emotional reasoning, blame… I have an app which talks me through it all. However, I don’t make the right hormones which help counteract the feeling which means that sometimes no matter how much CBT I do, the feeling doesn’t go away- the chemicals don’t and can’t kick in. I don’t feel any calmer for it.

Via technology

I love social media because I can feel connected even when I can’t get out of bed. Except social media is fake and can mess with your head if you’re not in the right mindset. People only put up what they want you to see, but it can be difficult to remind yourself of that on particularly bad days. Instead it’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking that everyone has amazing lives and I don’t. Some days I log my phone off completely and don’t go on social media at all.

Another great thing is text message or messenger. Except it’s not that simple. I’m not unreasonable, I know that people don’t reply to messages straight away because people have things to do, and I don’t expect people to be at my beck and call. But if I can quite clearly see someone has read the message, or are online and not reading/replying, or just not replying full stop, I find it hard to deal with on bad days. I over-analyse and assume it’s something I’ve done wrong, a bit like after face to face. So at times when I actually need interaction when I’m feeling low, I find it easier not to text or communicate with anyone because then I don’t have to worry about people not replying or answering. Some days I don’t answer my phone when it rings because I’m too stressed out by the thought of it. The advantage of text is it’s all written down so I know exactly what I’ve said. The disadvantage is you can’t see people’s facial reactions. Rationally, I know people don’t reply for a bunch of reasons, one being they forgot or had to do something else. But I rarely manage to convince myself of this on bad days.

Now, if you’re a mentally healthy individual, you’re probably reading this and thinking ‘what an idiot’. I admit, it sounds stupid. But that’s the hard thing with mental health, you feel stupid so you don’t talk about it, and by making it a taboo subject, you feel more stupid. My Dad said once ‘you’re making the mistake in thinking that everyone thinks about things afterwards in as much detail as you. Chances are, they can’t remember what they said either’. He’s right, and he also probably doesn’t remember saying it! It matters more to me because I can’t recall what was said even if I wanted to because I feel so foggy, so I feel at a disadvantage and like I’ve lost control. It’s also foolish to take responsibility for everything that happens in a conversation- whether it’s a good or a bad one, it still takes more than one person to share a conversation so they’re just as much responsible for how it pans out. 

I try to make a point of replying to every message I get even if it’s just with a ‘lol’ or an ‘ok’, unless I’ve got a really good reason not to, because I know how anxious it makes me feel if I’m having a bad day and it’s the other way round. Sometimes I genuinely forget, like if my phone rings in the middle of me typing or I fall asleep (and usually drop my phone on my head), so I’m sorry if that happens. I’m well aware that one of the ways to help myself is to break the cycle and challenge my thinking, but it can be pretty hard work and you have to chip slowly away at it to be successful long term rather than trying to bulldozer it in one go. If you do have a friend who’s depressed, chances are it’s when they go quiet that they need a chatty text message, rather than when they’re actively posting on social media or sending messages. 

Leave a Reply

