Week 3: Advent Challenge

This Advent I was joining the Bible Society with their Advent Challenge, focussing on the true meaning of Christmas. Here’s how I got on in the third and final week: 

Day 15: offer to do something someone else would usually do. I tried really hard to load the dishwasher for my husband that day- he usually does everything for me because I can’t. However, after watching me do it over the course of about 2 hours (lots of breaks) he eventually said ‘I appreciate the gesture but it would be so much easier if I just did it myself!’. It made us both laugh anyway! 

Day 16: recycle as much as you can. We recycle a lot anyway so this wasn’t much of a challenge. 

Day 17: write a list of 10 things you are thankful for. I enjoyed this challenge and wrote a separate post about it here.

Day 18: teach someone a skill you have. We had some Christmas crackers which had handbells in them for our Christmas meal with friends. I guess I helped a bit with my music teacher background.

Day 19: talk to someone about what Christmas means to you. I’ve actually done this a lot this advent. This year has made me take a step back and realise what’s important, particularly at Christmas. So I ended up talking to a few people.

Day 20: ask someone how they are rather than just jumping straight in with what you want/need. This is actually one of my pet hates- lots of people I know use or exploit people for what they can get out of them and then don’t care in return. If someone does something for me I always thank them and/or buy them lunch/coffee so we can chat. 

Day 21: invite someone lonely over or take them cake. This one was slightly more difficult because I’m probably classed as the ‘lonely’ one in my circle of friends since I can’t leave the house by myself, and we don’t know anyone elderly locally. So I decided to teach our to people who seemed lonely on social media and offer support that way (and virtual cake). 

Day 22: plan to do some of the Bible challenge things in 2017. Coincidentally, I’d already decided I would do this earlier in the week. Now I definitely will! 

Day 23: phone someone who might be alone over Christmas. Again, most people we know have plans over Christmas. But I’ll continue to chat to people on social media. 

Day 24: finish your preparation early and bin your to do list- spend time with family or God instead. I plan on spending some quality time with my husband later today. 

I enjoyed the challenge. Some things weren’t necessarily any different from what I usually do, but it was nice to have a different theme for each day and to be thinking more consciously about the meaning of Christmas. 

Leave a Reply

