The Gratitude Challenge

It’s the last day of the 30 days of gratitude challenge! The point of the challenge was to acknowledge the things and people which make our lives brighter, and also to realise that we have lots of things to be grateful for. I’m grateful for this challenge for those reasons, but also in a different way.

I don’t let myself get upset about things for very long. I come up with a plan (hence my blog name) and ‘get on with it’. Which is all very well and good, but, actually, it’s ok to be upset about unfair things in life. Taking part in this challenge made me take stock of my current situation and made me realise that while there are still many lovely things I can be grateful for, I have lost a lot. To quote one of the doctors treating me: I know I’ve lost a lot, but I didn’t *know* I’d lost a lot. I dealt with scary situations ‘too well’ and ‘got on with it’. Now I feel like I *know* those things. (which is a good thing)

Writing about the things that I already felt grateful for in a way which explained them to other people let me see everything from a different perspective. Coming up with the things I was grateful for wasn’t hard, I do that anyway, like I wrote about in this post. But explaining why I’m grateful for what might be quite simple things to other people was the challenge for me. It let my brain catch up with what’s happened. And for that I’m grateful.

I really liked reading other people’s posts because it was lovely seeing my twitter feed filled with positives rather than rants about Brexit, the NHS debate and the US election! It also gave me more insight into some of the people behind the blogs I already follow, and introduced me to new blogs. I look forward to the next challenge!

3 thoughts on “The Gratitude Challenge

  1. EurekaBits says:

    I didn’t know about Adrenal Insufficiency before reading your posts, and I don’t currently know anyone in my circle who has it. But if come across someone who has SAI as well, your blog will be the first virtual place I’d like to direct them to. Simply put, you are inspiring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

