My past 

Day 27 of the 30 days of gratitude challenge is my past. Something which I definitely took for granted at the time, along with the majority of the population, was my education.

Not everyone in the world has access to an education up to 18 years old, it isn’t always free and it’s not always available to girls. So the fact that I had a full school education is something to be grateful for.

On the whole, I had caring teachers and a good school life. Having been a teacher, I can see how easy it would be to walk out of my classroom on the bell and sit in the staff room at breaks, and refuse to deal with anything that doesn’t involve actual lessons. But lots of my teachers didn’t do that, if we were interested or had problems, they made themselves available. As tiring and as stressful as being a teacher was, I tried to make sure I was always around when I was needed. 

I was allowed to study the things I found interesting. Today STEM subjects are favoured by our government and arts subjects and languages are seen as a ‘waste of time’. How sad. 

I had the chance to go to university. I learnt more than a subject while there, it taught me a lot about living, friendships, living by myself and all the boring things which come with being a grown up. But at least I had housemates to commiserate about these things  with rather than being thrown in at the deep end by myself! 

Having worked in challenging schools, I can see how easily influenced pupils are. Even really well intentioned pupils can find themselves on the ‘wrong path’. I don’t know whether it was my doing or my teachers’ guidance, but I stayed on the ‘right’ one. 

One thought on “My past 

Leave a Reply

