Memories

Day 25 of the 30 days of gratitude challenge is memories. 2016 has been a bad year for making memories in general for me. I left my career in teaching, I’ve spent more time in hospital than ever before, my niece died… There’s plenty more, but that’s not the point of this blog. Aside from the horrible things, I’m really struggling to remember the good things because my memory is really poor at the moment. However, another blogger wrote about how she’s made a happiness jar full of good things that happen, which she writes on pieces of paper and adds to it throughout the year. I think I might start this, not necessarily as an annual thing like she does, but so that when I’m feeling a bit fed up about everything I can remind myself of the good or funny things which do happen. Nice suggestion, Nikki! 🙂

A memory I do like to think about is when my husband and I were in Death Valley on Honeymoon last year. We spent a couple of hours in the evening/nighttime star gazing. There were sun loungers on the terrace outside our room, which is a bit ironic because there’s no way you’d want to be sunbathing in Death Valley when the sun’s up- you’d fry. But the temperature at nighttime was lovely and warm, the animals and insects were out in the desert below which you could hear, and the sky was really clear. You could see every star in the sky as it’s a protected Dark Zone. It was really peaceful and relaxing. There were other people doing the same thing, but no one was really talking, everyone was just taking in the atmosphere. In a city, it’s easy to forget the enormous-ness of the world, and even in countryside, there are still trees and mountains which ‘get in the way’ of your line of sight. Here, the whole sky opened up and it made me have a different kind of respect for the different parts of the world and how we only ever see a tiny part of it, no matter how well traveled or broad our horizons might be. Even though we didn’t actively do an awful lot in Death Valley, it was one of the highlights of the trip for this reason. I loved other bits of the trip as well, and they’re also great memories, but I particularly like this memory because of the way it made me feel settled at the time.

IMG_3122

IMG_2822

 

One thought on “Memories

Leave a Reply

