Why I started Blogging 

Day 19 of the 30 days of gratitude challenge is hobby. I already wrote about my hobbies earlier in the month when ‘passions’ was the topic. So I thought I’d write about my newest hobby: blogging.

The idea of writing a blog and sharing things publicly wasn’t one that appealed. I also thought I wouldn’t be very good at it. I originally started writing about TV programmes, after a friend suggested I write about the things that I watch during the day to keep from my brain wasting away while off sick. 

After I finished work, a lot of people seemed to struggle with the notion that I wasn’t ‘getting better’ and it became obvious that I hadn’t really explained what I’m sick with very well. So I decided to write easy to understand blogs about adrenal insufficiency so that my friends who were interested could read them. Other people from elsewhere in the world started reading them as well, which surprised me! I branched out a bit more, writing my experiences about chronic illness and with different healthcare professionals in the NHS- these ones are the most popular on my blog. 

I took part in Blog Every Day in May and really liked the challenge of writing about different themes. A couple of these were about travel and I liked looking back at my photos, so started to write about trips I’d been on. An American website saw these and asked me to write for their site as well, so I publish on there when I can too.

Blogging gives me something to do most days, and makes me ‘think’. I like reading other people’s blogs as well and seeing their points of view. I like the fact it’s a way of being creative. There’s no pressure to do it and I can write as much or as little as I want. I also like doing challenges like this one! 

#30bbdaysofgratitude challenge
Leave a Reply

