Nature 

Day 10 of the 30 days of gratitude challenge is nature. I grew up in the countryside so nature has always been a big part of my life. I like living in a city for many reasons, but I like the space you get from being in the countryside and the peace that comes with it. I particularly like looking at views of water or from a high up point. I’m less fussed about wildlife or animals, they might make the countryside better, but they’re not what I’d seek out. So I thought I’d share some of my favourite places. 

I grew up in the Lake District. This is one of my favourite ‘lakes’. I’ve been here a few times- it’s not a well known path, looking out over derwent water and Keswick.


I lived in Besançon, France for a year and one of my favourite things to do was to go for a run or a wall around the ‘boucle’, the river bend that was at the centre of the town. There were different zones to it so different aspects of nature and history to take in.


Not strictly nature by itself, but I liked looking out over Central Park in New York seeing the contrast between the green of the park and the grey of the city. I sat here with this view for a good half an hour taking it all in. 


Also in the States was Death Valley and the desert. A really different take of nature for me, since I usually associate it with green and living things, so seeing it sparse and barren was a real contrast. Plus we could see all the stars, it was lovely!


Yosemite was beautiful. Pictures and words don’t do it justice. It’s huge. Your eye can’t fully appreciate how massive it is.


Nature and beautiful things don’t just have to be out in the middle of nowhere. I loved Lausanne in Switzerland for the peacefulness you got down by the lake but still with city conveniences nearby. 

I’m lucky to have seen a lot of nature and the contrasts across different landscapes, but these ones are my favourites to go back to. 

#30bbdaysofgratitude challenge
2 thoughts on “Nature 

Leave a Reply

