My Books

Day 9 of the 30 Days of Gratitude Challenge is My Books. I love reading. I like how you can get absorbed in the story and imagine the characters and their surroundings. My favourite by far is the Harry Potter series, and I’ve just started reading them again.

It’s a great story for one thing, but it also makes you think. It challenges different stereotypes or ideas, but in a really individual way- it means something different to everyone who reads it. You can relate to several different characters, even the ‘evil’ ones, and you feel like you’re part of the story rather than an outsider looking in. There are complicated bits to the plotline (my husband still doesn’t get the wands allegiance thing), but you can choose how involved you become with them.

I grew up with the books- the first one was released in my last year of Primary School, meaning I was roughly the same age as Harry, Hermione and Ron each time a new book was released. It was great ‘growing up’ with them and July was one of the most exciting times of year for me!

I love that I can revisit the books and still find something new.

 

#30bbdaysofgratitude challenge
3 thoughts on “My Books

    • Ok Then, What's Next? says:

      They’re good! I like how the writing develops as the kids get older as well. It’s been quite a good thing to do while off sick and have got lots of sitting around to do, makes it feel more like a reading challenge 🙂

      Like

  1. aureliebumpblush1 says:

    SAme as Nikki, I have still never read any of the Harry Potter books but I have seen some of the films.
    There’s this book the old man and the sea, I read it when I was 12…and did not quite get it and made a promise to myself to read it when I turn 30…so this year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

