Independence Day: Resurgence

I know I’m going against the grain here, but I wasn’t overly impressed with this film. The trailer looked good, the concept was great, but I didn’t really feel any kind of attachment to it while watching it.

I watched the 1996 Independence Day film in science lessons, you know, the ones at the end of the year where your teacher is trying to make a film link with a subject so they can legitimately show it to their class. We saw it in 3 parts, and I recall looking forward to the next lesson to finish watching it. I remember the rousing speech the President gave during it and feeling the tension.

Independence Day: Resurgence tells the story of Earth 20 years on, and how it faces another attack. A lot of the actors from the 1996 film appeared again in this film, which was a great idea- you could see how they had aged and it added to the story rather than breaking off and having completely new characters. There were obviously some new faces, and a few of them had ties to their family who had fought in the 1996 film, which, again, was a great concept. I liked the fact that the female characters seemed to have a bit of resolve about them and were treated as equals to their male counterparts.

However, it felt a bit like the film was ‘trying too hard’. Some of the screenplay was a bit obvious and I didn’t find many of the attempts at humour funny. I didn’t feel any of the underlying tension, and I found myself rolling my eyes at the usual Sci-Fi ‘sacrificing’ saga (where someone always has to fly into the blast to save the world), rather than being upset by it. I wasn’t rooting for any particular character either. There were many ‘we’ve only got one shot to do this’ comments, but they then ended up having more than ‘one shot’, so I stopped believing what they were saying to the point that when they killed off one of the main characters, I almost missed it. The CGI and effects were good quality and the soundtrack was alright but, again, nothing special.

It was a nice way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon and I’m glad I went to see it. It just didn’t live up to the expectations I had in my head.

Photo: Box Office Image

 

Leave a Reply

