Bank Holiday 

Day 30 of Blog Every Day in May is Bank Holiday… And it’s also my birthday! My husband and I had a day out for my birthday on Saturday, so I’m writing about that today. 

It was a surprise until the morning, when he told us where we were going. For lunch he’d booked a table at Turtle Bay, a Caribbean restaurant. I’d never had Caribbean food before but it was really good- I had mango and chicken wings to start and prawn and mango wrap for main. We shared some rum cake for pudding as well. It was pretty spicy food, so not a place to go if you’re not a fan of spice, but we loved it. The restaurant is designed to make you feel like you’re on a beach in Jamaica, so it had a nice feel to it. 


After lunch we went to the Hippodrome to watch the Sound of Music. I love musicals but I hadn’t seen this one (except for the film). It was pretty good, definitely worth seeing. The person who played Captain Von Trapp was an ex-Coronation Street star and sang out of time a couple of times which threw the kids a bit, but overall it was a good show. 

Afterwards, we came home and watched TV and ate Ben and Jerry’s- less exciting, but still a nice end to a day out! 

2 thoughts on “Bank Holiday 

Leave a Reply

